The Hunted Girls – Frozen Souls (Detective Ellie Reeves series–Book 4) ARC Book Review

Frozen Souls (Detective Ellie Reeves #4)

No. of pages:- 449 pages

Genre:- Thriller

Date published:- will be published on October 28th 2021

Publisher:- Bookouture

Rating:- 4.5/5 stars

She looked like an angel. She lay perfectly still, silky blonde hair falling to her pale shoulders. Icicles clung to her eyelashes as snowflakes fluttered to the frozen ground, burying her body.

As a snowstorm wreaks havoc in the mountain town of Crooked Creek, a woman is found buried in ice. Detective Ellie Reeves is first on the scene. Examining the body, she finds frozen blonde hair, pink nail polish and a silver heart necklace engraved with Mine Forever.

Ellie has first-hand experience of the monsters that lurk in the mountains––her childhood is testament to that. She vows to catch this one, but she’s up against the brutal weather, with snow covering footprints and making forensics impossible.

Frantically trawling through missing-person’s reports, Ellie identifies the victim. Nadine Houser disappeared eleven years ago. Where has she been all this time? Why was she only murdered now?

As storm clouds roll in, another girl is reported missing. Ellie retraces the steps of Ginger Weston who was renting a cabin in the mountains. She discovers a gold chain in the snow, spotted with blood. The killer is accelerating, and it’s just a matter of time before more innocent lives are robbed.

With the town blaming Ellie for the missing girl on her watch, and everyone fearing for their safety of their daughters, it’s down to Ellie to solve the toughest case of her career. But when the killer comes after her, will she live to save Crooked Creek from its ruthless monster?

A totally gripping read that will get your pulse pounding as you flip through the pages! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot who love a roller-coaster, twist-packed page-turner!

Detective Ellie Reeves is back!

Plot:- A body of a woman who went missing years ago was found in the AT. The body has been kept in a cooler and is identified as Nadine Houser who went missing on the night after her shift at a convenience store few years ago. While Detective Ellie is trying to follow up Nadine’s case, soon Ginger Weston, daughter of the governor goes missing and Ellie must work alongside FBI agent Derrick to find Ginger before it becomes too late.

Writing:- I have been hooked into Ellie Reeves series and each time I read Rita Heron’s books, I wasn’t disappointed! Filled with twists and turns, many unexpected ones that will make the reader hooked into the story. I was at that the edge of my seat as I continued reading this book, wondering who this person who hunted these girls and then kept their bodies in the cooler! I kept reading this book until I came to the ending. All this time, I was left in suspense and there were not much suspects that I couldn’t figure out who the hunter is. Good job by the author for keeping the readers guess until the end! Also, this is fast paced, action packed that you feel like you are investigating this case with Ellie Reeves

Although this is a part of the Ellie Reeves series, this is actually a standalone novel and the author has clearly explained and written tits and bits from her previous books in this book so the person who is reading this book for the first time will not get lost in the series.

Characters:- Ellie Reeves is my all time favorite characters–she is brave and courageous who would do anything to catch the killers and put them behind the bars. I also like the slow romance developing between Ellie and Derrick.

Overall:- Overall, this is a fast paced thriller filled with twists and turns you would never have guessed until the end–worth five stars!

Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for the ARC. The review is based on my honest opinion only.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s