All The Dark Places – ARC Book Review

Title:- All The Dark Places

Author:- Terri Parlato

No. of pages:- 304 pages

Date published:- will be published on 27th December 2022

Genre:- Psychological Thriller

Rating:-

Plot:- 5/5

Writing:- 5/5

Overall rating:- 5/5

For fans of Megan Miranda and Shari Lapena, this stylish debut thriller from a skillful new voice in suspense, Terri Parlato, introduces seasoned Boston detective Rita Myers investigating the murder of a seemingly perfect husband. Filled with unexpected twists and well-drawn characters, this modern whodunit is set against the picturesque backdrop of a Massachusetts winter, as a woman with a traumatic past tries to uncover who among her friends is a killer.

A savage murder rocks a quiet Boston suburb, revealing the dark secrets at the center of a group of friends in this clever, propulsive debut from new master of suspense, Terri Parlato . . .

Snow falls softly outside Molly Bradley’s home on a frigid January night. Inside, half a dozen close friends are gathered to celebrate the fortieth birthday of Molly’s psychologist husband, Jay. Candlelight gleams against dark wood, wine flows, and the house rings with laughter. Everybody loves Jay, Molly most of all. Yet next morning, Molly discovers Jay dead on the floor of his office, his throat brutally slashed.

After decades working with the Boston PD, Detective Rita Myers has grown accustomed to the banality of evil—the murders that make no sense beyond bad luck or a tragic brush with the worst of humanity. But Jay Bradley’s murder isn’t random, or a mere crime of opportunity. Rita is convinced that someone in the couple’s small circle killed him. Someone who was celebrating with them that night.

Devastated, Molly tries to make sense of her husband’s death. Jay was her rock, the only person who really understood the nightmare she lived through long ago. He knew the horrors she’s kept hidden even from her friends. But shocking revelations are making her question if Jay was all he seemed to be—and whether someone else knows her past too. And until Molly figures out who she can really trust, she won’t be able to stop herself becoming the next target . . .

This is a fantastic debut by the author and I must say. I actually enjoyed reading this book and was hooked till the end!

The story starts with a birthday party held at Bradley’s house and all of their close friends were invited. Mrs. Bradley, known as Molly retires to bed early after the party and Joe is stuck in the office as he is busy working on his new book. When Molly wakes up, she finds that his side of the bed was empty and not slept in. When she goes downstairs, she finds her husband dead with his throat slashed. One of the guests at the party was guilty of the murder and someone in the group knows Molly’s turbulent past. The detectives Rita and Chse gets involved in the case as they believed that the murder of Dr. Bradley is connected to the disappearance of another woman happened months ago.

This was really engrossing. It was told from Molly’s and Rita’s POV and we do know through reading Molly’s POV about the secret that she was keeping. The book itself talks about the trauma the person gets when the person was abducted, and of couse, this was a quite page turner which is a plus sign in psychological thriller books. Also, there are some twists and turns and until the end, you would actually never know who the real killer was. Overall, this was truly an engaging thriller and I cannot wait to read more books from this author. Worth solid five stars.

Many thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the ARC. The review is based on my honest opinion only.

Terri Parlato was born and raised in upstate New York. She currently lives in a small north Georgia town with her husband and their dog Lucy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s